Moving

Moving is not always an easy step to take.  Hearing the cacophony of your alarm close upon your bedside table usually startles anyone into the new day but getting out of bed is usually a slow and deliberate process with the temptation to stay where it’s comfortable and warm.  I can recall of so many mornings where I was stalling and bargaining with myself…”if I have cereal for breakfast I can sleep for one more snooze” or “my lesson plans are ready for the first period; I can sleep for two more snoozes.”  The first foot hitting the floor is always the hardest.  The second foot hitting the floor gets a little easier and before you know it, the movement builds momentum and the day has started.

The most difficult move I ever made was to change careers.  I found my previous career promising and enjoyable but there were a lot of factors that I couldn’t be content with.  I started flirting with the possibility of changing careers.  It took me a couple of years to finally make the decision to leave.  While it was a hard decision, once I got moving on the process I became surprised how much I wanted the change.  The catch to this new career:  a move across the country.

Moving to a new province and leaving behind my family has been the most difficult step to take but thankfully, we see it as a fruitful decision.  Moving has its rewards.  It provides brand new opportunities; a fresh start and the beginning of a new journey to seek adventure…and mountains for snowboarding only a few hours away.

Leave a comment