Make room for me

I love Paco.  He’s a good guy.  When he gives me those puppy eyes (and no one is looking), I occasionally let him up on the coach.  I like the way he slowly starts making his way up, ignoring the magazines, books, computer, pillow, and whatever else might be in his way.  He doesn’t care if there’s no room; he makes room for himself.

I think we need people in our lives that will make room for themselves in our (often artificially) busy lives.  How special it is to have friends who don’t care about disrupting routines, agendas, and general busyness.  They just show up and make room for themselves.  Doesn’t an unexpected phone call from a friend cause a wider smile than a planned one?

I had quite the experience on Monday and it left me pretty shaken.  It’s funny what goes through your mind in “close call” situations.  I expected moments in my life to roll much like the credits roll at the end of a film, or in my case, bloopers.  Instead, I had this overwhelming feeling that everything was going to be all right.  The other thoughts I had surprised me, but then again, not really at all.

I guess if I can learn anything from this experience (besides the mechanics of counter steering) is the need to make room for myself in my friends’ lives.  It’s okay to call late.  It’s okay to show up unexpected.  It’s okay to ask for favours.  It’s not okay to let worries of getting in their space affect your friendships.

Now, make room for me!

Leave a comment