It’s the end of an era

Rachel: I mean we’re not, we’re not gonna live together anymore?
Monica: No.
Rachel: What? Oh my God! I’m gonna miss you so much!
Monica: I’m gonna miss you!
Rachel: I mean it’s the end of an era!
Monica: I know!

Two summers ago I moved in with my friend Ash. We knew each other fairly well, but still had a lot of getting to know one another. While it took some time and communication to get into a living routine, we quickly progressed into close friends, best friends, and finally family.

It was easy to live with her. We liked the same things: strong coffee, red wine, fitness, eating healthy, driving fast, going to the beach, road trips, watching Friends…you know, the simple things. We also appreciated the complicated: discussing relationships, our faith, the power and influence of our words and actions, and the constant desire to live a bigger story.

Visiting Ash over the long weekend gave us some time to reminisce (and laugh) about the ridiculous escapades we often found/find ourselves in. There’s always been something about our friendship that drives us to seek out some form of adventure and excitement. I know it’s going to take some time to adjust living apart, but I also know that small little anecdotes are going to keep the memories fresh.

It is the end of an era. Here’s to new adventures.

About a month ago, I wrote a guest post on Ashley’s blog. The post articulates (the best words can) the special moments shared during our time living together. You can read it here.

One response to “It’s the end of an era

Leave a comment